Weekend review: Apartment update

This past weekend, Mom came up to visit. She hadn’t been to DC since early January, but she also came with the purpose of bringing lots of goodies I had stored at home (particularly kitchen goodies). I can now eat off plates and use real cutlery – fancy eh?

We also managed to knock out a few apartment updates that I thought I’d share. I’m really excited about sharing the ‘in progress’ moments so I can watch my first place evolve as I find my own home style. The big ticket items we scored this weekend were a couch (not yet delivered) and also updated bookshelves. I had these in my last place, but you might remember they were black. 2 coats of primer and 2 coats of Behr’s Parsnip later and ta -dah…

photo(248)

This is technically the back-side, but I tried to make the shelves do double duty so it was appealing to the eye from both sides; however, the shelves were definitely decorated with the side facing the door in mind first.

You might also notice a little updated bedding. I went all white trying to use bedding I had, adding in necessities like a new duvet cover, and sourcing 2 accent pillows from Marshall’s. I actually despise pillows that have no function so wanted to keep the extra pillows to a minimum. And to satisfy my own habits/quirks, both of these pillows are used daily.

Just to give you an idea of the space from the entry way, here’s before:

photo 1(11)

And after:

photo(245)

I’m definitely still missing a few big ticket items, but hopefully the couch will be delivered this week and the rest will fall into place. Here’s an updated list of to-do’s/must buy for the entire apartment. I haven’t shown you the closets, bathroom, or the work/desk area, but I’ve included updates below where needed. The closet and bathroom are pretty much sorted.

Bedroom

  • Buy white duvet cover
  • Buy 4 standard, white pillow cases
  • Add 2 decorative pillows
  • Add decorative mirror or framed graphic over bed
  • Add small rugs next to bed (maybe)
  • Add picture frame shelving next to window (purchased, need to hang)
  • Add soft curtains

Living room

  • Buy couch/loveseat
  • Add slipper chair if room
  • Add graphic rug
  • Add something on back wall over couch
  • Frame out TV on long dresser and add picture wall
  • Add lighting

Work space

  • Update desk
  • Update work area to be functional for both work and crafts

Entry

  • Add graphics, small mirrors, etc to wall at entry

So yeah, still a fair way to go. I’ll keep you posted as I continue to update my space!

1 Comment»

  crankypants wrote @

Looks great!!


Leave a Reply

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

RAISING A RESCUE DOG

Because rescuing a dog is a commitment not a trend!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

LilyPetal

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing

Joy Victory

Words are my weapons.

CAT IN WATER

Art. Design. Nature. Inspiration

Life of Roya

musings of Roya Ghorbani-Elizeh

Lauri's Blerg

Just another Vox refugee

the food matters project

you are what you eat

emily cawood

designer - builder - artist

Ross' WordPress Portal

Just another WordPress.com site

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Simple Savvy

Slow living, simply done

Going Dutch

and loving it

Lauowolf's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

