Goals: 2014 and beyond…

Well hello there and welcome back! That’s my big Asia adventure all wrapped up, but I still plan to share the rest of my selfies with you. They’ll be sprinkled in over the next month, so stay tuned;  but in the mean time, I thought I’d share my 2014 goals and reflect back on 2013.

First up, 2013 – let’s just take a quick peek at all that was accomplished:

  • 12 adventures of 2013 (with the last 2 months dedicated to Asia!)
  • 20 books done and dusted with a few left in progress
  • Ran a race and proved to myself my knee still works!
  • Completed a new dog training course
  • Completed a year of Happiness Project journaling
  • And only left 1 item on my DC bucket list (American History Museum, you will be visited soon!)

You can view my full list here.

There were a few bits that were left undone, but on the whole 2013 was an amazing year. Yes, there were some definite rough patches (ahem, September/October), but Asia gave me an incredible new perspective on the world and on myself. I don’t know if I can possibly be any more thankful to the people I met along the way that truly made it the trip of a lifetime!

So with that perspective, I’m diving head first into 2014 and have never been more excited for a new year and a fresh start. Yes, I would have loved to continue traveling, but as a friend once said to me…it’s okay to float, just don’t drift. And if I had kept traveling, I think I would have just been drifting. There is so much to build and carve in 2014, that the blank slate is liberating, terrifying, and exciting all at the same time.

With that said, you may notice that my goals are a little different to how I’ve approached them in the past. For the past 2 years, it’s been more about creating a more fulfilling life here in DC with very specific items, but for 2014, it’s more about ME and figuring out where my adventure-filled life will take me. So here you go, my 2014 hopes, dreams, and goals

  • Define and improve my career
  • Complete final knee surgery & run a 10-miler
  • Complete year 2 of the happiness project
  • Attend 1 music festival
  • Travel to at least 3 international destinations
  • Say YES to everything…
  • Read 25 books
  • Complete DC bucket list

Yes, I realize that some of these have been approached in very broad terms, but it’s not because I don’t know what I want, it’s because I’m leaving all doors open. So here’s to 2014, and as is customary, here’s this year’s motto:

Live for the story

It might sound odd, and when I tell you it’s from Doctor Who you’ll think I’m a nerd, but the following quote was a true driving force for me while I was in Asia and I truly walked away with some amazing stories.

drwho

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

RAISING A RESCUE DOG

Because rescuing a dog is a commitment not a trend!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

LilyPetal

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing

Joy Victory

Words are my weapons.

CAT IN WATER

Art. Design. Nature. Inspiration

Life of Roya

musings of Roya Ghorbani-Elizeh

Lauri's Blerg

Just another Vox refugee

the food matters project

you are what you eat

emily cawood

designer - builder - artist

Ross' WordPress Portal

Just another WordPress.com site

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Simple Savvy

Slow living, simply done

Going Dutch

and loving it

Lauowolf's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

