2013 Goals: Check in

Well, it’s October and I’m officially 30 days away from my big Asia adventure. I can’t believe how fast September passed, let alone the last 9 months so I thought I’d check in on my 2013 goals. I’ve been tipping away at them quite steadily and making plans to complete the others, but of course I did fall down a little in September.

As the old adage goes, Life happens when you’re busy making plans. So while I was lining things up to experience, life happened…in a big way. The best any of us can do is to find our feet again and to keep on walking, because life doesn’t end when you’re 29 and heart broken.

So while I’m accepting failure of my September goal/adventure, I’m not accepting defeat. I still did lots of great things in September. There was my visit to the MLK Memorial and Roosevelt Island. I got to see Bastille and Imagine Dragons live. And I’ve put my will power and heart to the test of finding my own path again.

Enough of that, onto more adventures! If you’ve been keeping track, I didn’t originally have anything planned for October. I figured something would pop up and as I suspected, it did. I created a NEW DC bucket list and it’s my October adventure to cross off as many things on that list this month. I’ve added a few more items and I’m setting the bar high; but isn’t that the fun of an adventure, you never know quite which direction you’ll take in the end. So here we are, the NEW bucket list:

  • MLK Jr. Memorial
  • Botanical Gardens
  • Theodore Roosevelt Island
  • American History Museum
  • National Arboretum
  • Pick fruit from a local orchard (planned for 10/20)
  • Oktoberfest (any!)

Stay tuned for adventure updates, I’m fairly sure some of these will be crossed off this weekend!

1 Comment»

  crankypants wrote @

Oh wow, I didn’t realize you were leaving for Asia so soon! For some reason I thought it was like March or something! (I was probably thinking of my German friend)


Leave a Reply

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

RAISING A RESCUE DOG

Because rescuing a dog is a commitment not a trend!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

LilyPetal

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing

Joy Victory

Words are my weapons.

CAT IN WATER

Art. Design. Nature. Inspiration

Life of Roya

musings of Roya Ghorbani-Elizeh

Lauri's Blerg

Just another Vox refugee

the food matters project

you are what you eat

emily cawood

designer - builder - artist

Ross' WordPress Portal

Just another WordPress.com site

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Simple Savvy

Slow living, simply done

Going Dutch

and loving it

Lauowolf's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

