Tunes: Pompeii

I first stumbled across Bastille a few months back and while I’ve been hearing their music, I haven’t really listened to it…until today.

Yesterday, I felt lost and like I was in a constant state of disbelief. I was having a hard time explaining that feeling, so when I listened to Pompeii today, it clicked for me.

Particularly this bit:

But if you close your eyes,
Does it almost feel like
Nothing changed at all?

I always like to see what other people think songs mean and see if my feeling is mutual or rather just something that made sense in my head. While my interpretation of the song is fairly simplified, I did find an entry that kind of summed up what it meant to me and in better words that I would have chosen:

It’s about that singular moment between something terrible happening and having to face the consequences. We close our eyes just for a moment, delaying the inevitable acceptance. We know we will have to ask ourselves ‘How am I going to deal with this?’ But if I close my eyes, I can pretend it didn’t happen, just for a second. It’s the moment at the top of a very unpleasant roller coaster.

I guess I’m still teetering at the top, trying to find a way to accept reality.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

RAISING A RESCUE DOG

Because rescuing a dog is a commitment not a trend!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

LilyPetal

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing

Joy Victory

Words are my weapons.

CAT IN WATER

Art. Design. Nature. Inspiration

Life of Roya

musings of Roya Ghorbani-Elizeh

Lauri's Blerg

Just another Vox refugee

the food matters project

you are what you eat

emily cawood

designer - builder - artist

Ross' WordPress Portal

Just another WordPress.com site

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Simple Savvy

Slow living, simply done

Going Dutch

and loving it

Lauowolf's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

