Weekend review: Up, up, and away

This past July 4th weekend has to be one of the best of the summer (so far). I could tell you about fireworks or being lazy by the pool, but that’s not why this weekend was so special.

On Sunday, BF and I knocked an item off my Before I turn 30 bucket list and went on a hot air balloon adventure over the Shenandoah Valley (that’s in VA). We also took the time to honor a friend lost a year ago, by getting a little closer to heaven.

I’ll warn you there are a lot of pictures, but seriously, I couldn’t help myself. I needed to share them. Sit back, relax, and enjoy.

BF caught snooping on the first balloon. It was just as exciting to see them getting everything ready.

CIMG3182

After they’ve blown air (from giant fans) into the balloon, they fire that baby up. Literally, they use the fire and heat inside the balloon to tilt the basket and balloon into the upright position.

CIMG3185

And they’re off. Check out the sun creeping over the trees. Did I mention it was 6 AM?

CIMG3191

And then came our balloon. I was a little less impressed, namely because of the patch repairs that were quite visible in a few spots. But hey, you get what you’re given. And of course, it was totally safe.

CIMG3192

Inside and all fired up! Fun fact, they have to burst the flames while you’re getting in to keep the basket on the ground. It makes for an awkward experience for a klutz like me. Fire, falling into baskets, yeah you see where I’m going.

CIMG3195

And then we were flying, just past 6 AM.

CIMG3204

And this is what happens when you give your camera to someone else in the basket and try to get a ‘couple’ shot. You may notice a hint of OMFG in my face. That’s because I kind of forgot about my fear of heights.

CIMG3202

My fears diminished significantly after about 10 minutes. It also helped that the pilot kept us at varying altitudes. We were at tree level for some of the time and even said hello to the couple coming out of this house. Their dog went nuts, likely trying to figure out how he could catch that big balloon in the sky.

CIMG3229

In total, we probably spent 45-50 minutes in the air. Plenty of time for BF (and me) to relax. I kind of caught him off guard with this photo, but I know he was thinking about his best friend.

CIMG3205

And then he snatched my camera and took a picture of some cows. Farm boys, eh?

CIMG3223

And then this one, of moi.

CIMG3231

So I had to reciprocate. Isn’t it gorgeous out there? He’s pretty cute, too.

CIMG3230

And last, but not least. If you’ve made it this far, here’s your reward. Hands down, without a doubt, the best photo of the day. That’s the first balloon that took off, probably around 6:30 AM, heading towards the sunrise.

CIMG3227

ps. this was also my July adventure putting the count to 7 of 12! You can see all the others here.

4 Comments»

  crankypants wrote @

Wow that looks incredible! Glad you got to do this, you’re really knocking them off the ol’ list! good for you. Great shots.

  zigzagmags wrote @

thanks! been trying really hard to knock them off the list, both big and small. slowed down on the reading, but only cos I felt a little burnt out. just now getting back into it. 🙂 suppose there’s always a million and 1 things to do.

  Colleen wrote @

What an awesome experience, M! Totally on my bucket list. And how brave of you to conquer one of your fears. Bravo!

  zigzagmags wrote @

do it, do it!! tons of groupons always floating about (har har, see what i did there?), so no excuse! 🙂


Leave a Reply

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

RAISING A RESCUE DOG

Because rescuing a dog is a commitment not a trend!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

LilyPetal

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing

Joy Victory

Words are my weapons.

CAT IN WATER

Art. Design. Nature. Inspiration

Life of Roya

musings of Roya Ghorbani-Elizeh

Lauri's Blerg

Just another Vox refugee

the food matters project

you are what you eat

emily cawood

designer - builder - artist

Ross' WordPress Portal

Just another WordPress.com site

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Simple Savvy

Slow living, simply done

Going Dutch

and loving it

Lauowolf's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

