Throwback Thursday: Glycerine

Back in the 90’s, there were a few clear signs that one day I’d grow up and fall in love with a man that had a sexy accent. Bush (and Gavin Rossdale) was one of those signs. I just couldn’t get over the way he said strawberries.

I also remember the day my sister’s Rolling Stone came in the mail and Gavin Rossdale graced the cover. Talk about teen obsession. I stole that magazine faster than a diabetic kid in a candy shop. I can’t actually remember if I ever gave it back, though I’m sure we fought about it, at which point I vehemently denied ever seeing it.

Gavin was my first teen celebrity crush and I just knew we could make our 20 year age gap work. He had a sexy accent and I was in love. Plus, I did own his first 2 albums, Sixteen Stone and Razorblade Suitcase. What more proof did he need?

However, I did miss the 3rd album, The Science of Things, when it debuted in 1999 as I think I was in love with a senior boy at the time. I was making progress from idolizing unreachable celebs to awkwardly flirting with seniors (as a freshman).

Gawd, was I awkward, but Bush were iconic. So here’s ‘Glycerine’ off of their first album, Sixteen Stone, released in 1995.

I still love when he sings ‘strawberry fields’ and I do vow to see him in concert if they ever tour again. I’ll be the 30-something screaming in the back like I’m 14 all over again.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

RAISING A RESCUE DOG

Because rescuing a dog is a commitment not a trend!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

LilyPetal

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing

Joy Victory

Words are my weapons.

CAT IN WATER

Art. Design. Nature. Inspiration

Life of Roya

musings of Roya Ghorbani-Elizeh

Lauri's Blerg

Just another Vox refugee

the food matters project

you are what you eat

emily cawood

designer - builder - artist

Ross' WordPress Portal

Just another WordPress.com site

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Simple Savvy

Slow living, simply done

Going Dutch

and loving it

Lauowolf's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

