Weekend review: Animal behaviors (and baby goats!)

This past weekend, I spent 2 days learning about animal behaviors (and playing with baby goats), all in an effort to work towards my big dream. As outlined in my 2013 goals, I began my new dog training course in March, but had only been working on the telecourse portion. This past weekend kicked off the monthly hands-on part where we get to go to a farm and dive into the fascinating world of animal behaviors and obtain practical experience.

This first weekend was about getting our feet wet and learning loads of terminology, overall knowledge, and what we can really do after we understand why animals act the way they do. I’ve been excited for this weekend ever since I found the course because I know now that my true passion lies in working with assistance and therapy animals (not just dog training). And it’s always exhilarating to be learning from the best in the profession!

One of the best highlights of the weekend was getting to pet and feed goats. We met goats at varying ages, but of course the most squee-worthy moments came with the baby goats. Here’s a photo of me feeding Bella her noms. She came up to me and bumped the insides of my knees looking for milk; apparently, this is what they do to their mamas. SQUEEEEE!

IMG_3890

Bella and her brother Murphy will go on to become therapy goats.

And because I couldn’t get enough of the goats, here’s Jake, nomming animal crackers from my hands. He was ravenous for the crackers and couldn’t get enough. Jake is a rescue and used to be on the kids party circuit where he often ate all the birthday cake. Lolz.

DSC_0308

The goats concluded weekend 1 of 6 and I’m already looking forward to May as we’ll get opportunities to work with horses, donkeys, and alpacas in addition to working with dogs, of course.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

RAISING A RESCUE DOG

Because rescuing a dog is a commitment not a trend!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

LilyPetal

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing

Joy Victory

Words are my weapons.

CAT IN WATER

Art. Design. Nature. Inspiration

Life of Roya

musings of Roya Ghorbani-Elizeh

Lauri's Blerg

Just another Vox refugee

the food matters project

you are what you eat

emily cawood

designer - builder - artist

Ross' WordPress Portal

Just another WordPress.com site

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Simple Savvy

Slow living, simply done

Going Dutch

and loving it

Lauowolf's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

