DIY: T-shirt necklace

I have a lot of craft items in my apartment just waiting to be crafted so this month, I decided I would refrain (as much as possible) from buying new craft things until I knocked out a lot of the freebies I had around the place. This is particularly true for my fabric collection that’s slowly growing arms and legs under my bed. However, that’s neither here nor there as this DIY was not only completely free, but it also helped me clean up a bit of clutter too!

As I was de-cluttering it up a few weeks back, I decided that I didn’t need all my sorority girl tees from college anymore. I’ve slowly been weeding them out over the past 5 years and this time I got it down to just 1 or 2, mostly to keep for the winter months since they are long sleeved. However, I did keep one brightly colored tee for a recycled craft I found many months ago from here. See how I upcycled an old tee below:

To get started, you’ll need:

  • t-shirt of choice
  • scissors
  • ruler
  • chalk to mark your lines
  • embroidery thread

1. First lay your tee out flat removing all the bumps and lumps, especially on the bottom layer.

photo(102)

2. Use your ruler to mark lines. About 3/4 of an inch between each line.

photo(103)

3. After you have enough, start cutting. Cut off the hem and discard.

photo(104)

4. After you’ve finished cutting, take the strips of tee and pull at each end so they curl (as shown on the right in the pic below).

photo(105)

5. As you pull & curl, lay them down in to a pile so all the ends are together. The original project says you can just secure them together and go from there, but my pulled tee turned out to be fairly large/long. I grabbed some embroidery thread in the same color and secured both ends.

photo(107)

6. I matched those ends together making sure it laid nicely as a necklace and wrapped it with an extra piece of the tee to give it a more finished look. Look in the mirror to see the back of the necklace.

photo(108)

And voila, an upcycled t-shirt necklace.

Usually, I never really review a DIY as it’s sort of a given that I love it if I’m posting about it. However, I feel compelled to say I was little underwhelmed by the final product here, but decided to post about it after the 150+ reblogs and comments that happened over on my Tumblr. It is nice and I’ll probably keep it for a few years and most likely wear it as a scarf as opposed to a necklace, but I don’t see it staying in my DIY collection forever. There’s just something about it that’s not totally my style. In the end it cost me zilch to craft, so if I throw it away then no big deal. At least I got my creative juices flowing for $0.

3 Comments»

  crankypants wrote @

yeah it’s definitely better as a scarf but I could see how some tweaks could make more of a necklace…fewer strands, add beads or something. But it’s always a good thing to get creative juices flowing ANNNNND get rid of clutter! (my whole house could be a craft project)

  zigzagmags wrote @

lol, i’ll be expecting some cranky DIY’s soon! 🙂

  crankypants wrote @

I gotta get the house cleaned first but I do have a couple crafty projects to do, though I don’t know if I have the discipline to make a post about it!


Leave a Reply

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

RAISING A RESCUE DOG

Because rescuing a dog is a commitment not a trend!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

LilyPetal

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing

Joy Victory

Words are my weapons.

CAT IN WATER

Art. Design. Nature. Inspiration

Life of Roya

musings of Roya Ghorbani-Elizeh

Lauri's Blerg

Just another Vox refugee

the food matters project

you are what you eat

emily cawood

designer - builder - artist

Ross' WordPress Portal

Just another WordPress.com site

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Simple Savvy

Slow living, simply done

Going Dutch

and loving it

Lauowolf's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

