DIY: Photo canvases

I found this instagram art mini canvas tutorial on Whimseybox awhile back and have been waiting for the right moment to DIY. Today was the day.

A few weeks ago, BF lost his best friend who passed away suddenly. It’s never easy saying goodbye, but it’s especially hard when loved ones are so young. It’s been a very tough month and while it’s easy enough to put on a smile, I know BF is hurting…a lot. I know it because I went through the same roller coaster of emotions when I lost Alison 2 years ago. So I do my best to balance the ‘Let’s talk about it.’ moments with ‘Here’s a silly story.’ moments. But at the end of the day, the best moments…the healing moments are the times when you sit back to remember.

With that in mind, I set out to tackle this very simple DIY for BF’s birthday in a few weeks. I knew I wanted to print out these photos, but I just didn’t want to frame them. I wanted them to stand out and I hope this simple gift will bring more smiles than tears over the years.

All you need to get started is a paint brush, mod podge, mini canvases, and your photos.

Because my photos weren’t instagrams, I just cut them down to 4×4 images. I did it the easy way and put the canvas on the photo and marked the photo with a pen before cutting.

Next, brush the canvas with mod podge (as it serves as your glue) and place your photo on the canvas. Then seal your photo to the canvas by brushing more mod podge over the photo. The tutorial suggests you brush the mod podge on your photo from the center out in case you get any air bubbles, but that wasn’t a problem for me.

Your photo will be cloudy, but wait about an hour for the mod podge to dry and it will turn clear. When they are dry – display, enjoy, and remember!

As Alison always said, “The greatest love is the love between friends.”

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

RAISING A RESCUE DOG

Because rescuing a dog is a commitment not a trend!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

LilyPetal

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing

Joy Victory

Words are my weapons.

CAT IN WATER

Art. Design. Nature. Inspiration

Life of Roya

musings of Roya Ghorbani-Elizeh

Lauri's Blerg

Just another Vox refugee

the food matters project

you are what you eat

emily cawood

designer - builder - artist

Ross' WordPress Portal

Just another WordPress.com site

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Simple Savvy

Slow living, simply done

Going Dutch

and loving it

Lauowolf's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

