Adventures in banana bread

It’s Friday night and I had big plans. I was going to make banana bread and make it I did! Like anyone else who sets out on a banana bread adventure, it’s likely resulted from over-ripe bananas and you just can’t bring yourself to a.) eat mushy nanners or b.) throw them away.

I had never made banana bread before, so this was all new for me. I looked around on the interwebs and I found quite a few “easy” recipes, but I wanted a recipe that was also relatively healthy. Luckily, a few days ago, my roomie introduced me to this site called Hungry Girl where the chick makes nomtastic foods but with less calories. I had a look at her recipe and I decided that not only could I make it, but that it would probably be a good healthy alternative. Hungry Girl also compared her recipe to a standard banana bread recipe. Did you know that ‘regular’ nanner bread has 326 calories per slice and 12 grams of fat??? Gross.

But healthy banana bread has only 140 calories per slice (wait til you see the size of these slices!) and .5 grams of fat. Oh and the best part? It’s actually good! It’s definitely not as sweet as normal banana bread, but I liked it a lot and was happier knowing that I wasn’t consuming a quarter of my daily caloric intake!

Without further ado, my adventure in banana bread…

All the ingredients – luckily, my roomie had the random things like whole wheat flour and I only had to purchase a few items.

First, mix your dry ingredients in 1 bowl and your wet ingredients in another, then mix together. Stirring until just blended.

Spoon into your greased bread pan. I just dumped it in.

Bake at 350 for 50 minutes or until done. Done = clean knife when you poke it.

Allow to cool slightly and then remove from pan. Allow to cool a bit longer before you slice it. Serves 8. Voila!

Can you believe the size of those slices? Only 140 calories each! NOM NOM NOM.

Want to make your own banana bread? Get Hungry Girl’s full recipe here.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

RAISING A RESCUE DOG

Because rescuing a dog is a commitment not a trend!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

LilyPetal

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing

Joy Victory

Words are my weapons.

CAT IN WATER

Art. Design. Nature. Inspiration

Life of Roya

musings of Roya Ghorbani-Elizeh

Lauri's Blerg

Just another Vox refugee

the food matters project

you are what you eat

emily cawood

designer - builder - artist

Ross' WordPress Portal

Just another WordPress.com site

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Simple Savvy

Slow living, simply done

Going Dutch

and loving it

Lauowolf's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

