Just another grumpy Monday…

It was never my intention to start Monday off in a bad mood; in fact, I’m not really in a bad mood. I just have a nagging feeling that I need to blurt nonsense out to officially get it out of my system.

This weekend was so blah and I felt really frustrated for at least 75% of the time. I wasn’t stressed, I wasn’t angry, I was just annoyed and I put myself in a bad mood for at least 48 hours. So here it is, my nonsense…

#1 – Snubbed

For the past 2 years, I’ve tried really hard to make friends in DC (specifically by joining a sports club). It sucks here, because in a transient city where no one sticks around, it’s hard to make friends. It’s even harder when you don’t work in an office. And it’s damn near impossible, when the people you have tried to be friends with for the past 2 years still find ways to make you feel like you’re 14 and insignificant…like when you’re not invited to a birthday party that pretty much everyone else in the club is invited to. I don’t know if it was intentional and I know it shouldn’t matter, but it does. It matters because I truly and honestly feel as if I’ve tried really hard (not in that awkward teen movie kind of way) and put in my dues as a relatively new member of the team; yet, somehow I’m still snubbed. And I find myself extremely annoyed that I don’t know why. I wish someone would just tell me and then at least I would know…

What’s worse, is that even though I’m snubbed I find myself still being polite and wishing people happy birthday or taking interest in their lives because that’s the right thing to do…right?

#2 – Taking steps back

I’ve also worked really hard this past year to not care about being snubbed and really focusing on valuable friends. This weekend, I felt like I took 5 steps back. I cared and I cared too much.

#3 – Not going to plan

Sometimes shit just hits the fan and there’s nothing you can do to control it. This Sunday, BF and I were supposed to go to a trampoline class that I got him for V-day as something fun and random to do. BF then tweaks his back while doing nothing overly strenuous. I know he didn’t do it on purpose (how could you?), but this was the one thing I was looking forward to this weekend after feeling like crap. The only bright side of it was that the company (who has a very strict cancellation policy) gave me a refund due to his injury and I was able to save the money spent and we can do it another time.

There was seriously nothing that could put a smile on my face yesterday and while I was a big mope yesterday, 2 more bitchy thoughts popped into my head as BF and I watched Drive and scoped out Oscar buzz on the interwebs.

#4 – Ugly knees

What was wrong with Angelina Jolie’s knee? She’s not fat nor has she ever been, so she shouldn’t have weird ‘I used to be fat’ knee sags, right?

#5 – Don’t watch Drive

Who said this was a good movie? Everyone that mentioned it to me said it was a great flick. Did they even watch it? It was terrible and glad we only paid $1.27 on Redbox. It needed MORE words and LESS head bludgeoning. I think I’ll start reconsidering friends who give out crappy movie references.

That is all.

2 Comments»

  crankypants wrote @

Sorry about your poopy mood. I certainly can relate, although this weekend was a rare one of late that I wasn’t in a poopy mood, even though I didn’t really do anything except a bit of housecleaning.
That sucks about the birthday party. I mean, if you think these people are friends then you would think that you’d be invited. So of course it’s upsetting. You feel like you kind of had the rug pulled out from under you. It’s understandable. Though it’s not understandable why they wouldn’t want to include you. You’re great! I can’t think of why anyone would find you offensive in any way. Good for you for making the effort, anyway. It’s SO hard to find friends at my age and I really don’t know what I am supposed to do. I take classes but it’s all very individual. I guess with the self-defense class it will be interactive and that’s part of the reason I’m a little terrified of it. I’ve become socially retarded and now almost afraid of interacting with others.
That really sucks about the trampoline thing! That sounds like so much fun. Suddenly I keep seeing stuff with people on trampolines and thinking, man that looks like a real mood booster and it’s good exercise too. But at least you can go another time.
*hugs* I hope your week gets better and better!

  zigzagmags wrote @

thanks for the hugs! mucho appreciated. i do feel better that i’ve posted it at least and i know i’m sort of doing the right thing by being a nice/good person. just sucks sometimes.

i actually get nervous at meeting new people too, but i think you’ll have fun with the self-defense class. if anything you get to beat down on someone.

have you seen the bulldogs on the trampoline? that cracked me up the other day and i was overly excited. but next time and hopefully conor won’t randomly tweak his back while doing nothing. maybe he’ll listen to me now that he should be doing yoga! argh.


Leave a Reply

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

RAISING A RESCUE DOG

Because rescuing a dog is a commitment not a trend!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

LilyPetal

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing

Joy Victory

Words are my weapons.

CAT IN WATER

Art. Design. Nature. Inspiration

Life of Roya

musings of Roya Ghorbani-Elizeh

Lauri's Blerg

Just another Vox refugee

the food matters project

you are what you eat

emily cawood

designer - builder - artist

Ross' WordPress Portal

Just another WordPress.com site

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Simple Savvy

Slow living, simply done

Going Dutch

and loving it

Lauowolf's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

