West coast adventures

Last September, the North American GAA finals were in San Francisco. I was beyond excited, not only to play in the finals of my second year of Gaelic sports, but to travel to the west coast! The only other time I had even thought about traveling west was to catch another plane somewhere else and only visited the LA airport.

This time, I took full advantage of the trip and spent 5 days in San Francisco and a week in Portland with my friend, Andrea. BF and I packed in as many activities as possible while in San Fran.

We biked the Golden Gate bridge stopping many times to take photos, only to discover each view was more breathtaking than the last (ps. check out my mini-me in the photo too! lolz).

We also went to Alcatraz and toured the prison. I had no idea Indians had occupied the island at one time!

And, of course while we were there, I played a lot of camogie and a little bit of gaelic football. Here’s a gratuitous picture of me in the finals against Denver. We lost by a point. And yes, that’s a skort. Hello 1998!

After I said goodbye to San Fran and the BF, I said hello to Portland and Andrea. I was amazed at how beautiful it was there, and also how truly weird it is! I loved the 90’s vibe within the city and couldn’t believe that you could be surrounded by beautiful mountains and rivers just by driving less than an hour outside the city. I know I kind of have that luxury here in DC, but it just seemed so much more impressive in Oregon.

And here we are on a boat. We randomly got in a ski boat with some guys who needed 2 extra people so they could water ski. They were also nice enough to not kill us and teach us how to ski as well! Don’t worry Mom, I notified friends before getting on the boat. Maybe not the smartest decision, but we had fun!

So why exactly am I reminiscing about my west coast adventures? Because I’m going back, baby!

I just booked a flight out to Seattle to visit Andrea again in May (all part of my Do More campaign, of course!) and we’ll be participating in the Color Run 5k! Basically, we’ll run and people will throw color on us. Sounds fun, eh? Stay tuned for pictures of that adventure!

2 Comments»

  Andrea wrote @

Love. Love. Love this. I don’t think I’ve ever been mentioned in someone’s blog πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see what you write about the seattle shenanigans. xoxo

  zigzagmags wrote @

roll on May! So excited πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

RAISING A RESCUE DOG

Because rescuing a dog is a commitment not a trend!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

LilyPetal

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing

Joy Victory

Words are my weapons.

CAT IN WATER

Art. Design. Nature. Inspiration

Life of Roya

musings of Roya Ghorbani-Elizeh

Lauri's Blerg

Just another Vox refugee

the food matters project

you are what you eat

emily cawood

designer - builder - artist

Ross' WordPress Portal

Just another WordPress.com site

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Simple Savvy

Slow living, simply done

Going Dutch

and loving it

Lauowolf's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

