Dating Irish lads – a guide for non-Irish girls

I came across this article, Dating Irish girls – A guide for American lads, and thought it handy if you’re a dude, but what about us ladies? It’s a bit of a pointless read unless you’re trying to bag an Irish girl. So I thought I’d help you out a bit from my personal and current experiences and whip up this little guide for you.

1. Learn to love carbs, especially spuds
As a personal rule of thumb, I try to avoid complex carbs. They don’t do me any favors when I step on the scale. But if you’re going to date an Irishman, you’ll need to concede every now and then. Irish boys live off spuds, pasta, and bread.

If you can’t bare to give in all the time (like moi), then you’ll have to find a way for him to have his spuds and you not starve. I usually opt for modified, healthier options. Things YOU have to prepare for, because he may not understand why you don’t want spuds 24/7.

2. Drink at your own pace
It’s simple; he probably started drinking when he was 13 and knew how to pour a proper pint a week later. He also likely worked in a pub, so don’t think you can keep up. No one wants to be that girl, so just be you. Yes, I speak from personal experience.

3. Irish lads are NOT from the UK
Do your homework. The Republic of Ireland (Northern Ireland not included) is not in the UK. The English are not the same as the Irish, just as the Scottish are not the same as the Welsh. If you refer to that part of the world, it’s the UK and Ireland, not just the UK.

4. Learn some slang
You don’t have to know every slang word being said, but learn a few. It’ll make the conversation a lot easier. I promise.

Also, don’t be offended by their slang words. While you may choose to not use words like ‘cunt’ or ‘fuck’, it’s pretty much a part of their vocabulary. Same way we say ‘Awesome’…a lot. And if it really does bother you, see rule #5.

5. Grow thick skin
Even if your BF is super lovey dovey to you and knows better than to ever ‘take the piss’ (see rule #4), you’re still fair game for his friends. Learn how to take a joke, don’t be sensitive, and know how to give it back. You’re going to have more fun when you’re in on the joke, instead of being the joke.

6. Irish lads don’t “date”
Maybe this should have been #1, but what I mean is, Irish lads (and this goes for English and Scottish too) don’t date in the same sense of the word like Americans. They don’t take you out for 2 dates to see if they like you or 4 dates before you get to meet their friends. It’s all or nothing and you’re either in a relationship or you’re not (varying degrees, of course). You probably met at a bar, a party, or a sporting event and they’re going to know instantly what type of friendship/relationship/situation you will have.

And ladies, you and I both know what it is if you’re just meeting up at the end of a random night. That’s not dating – in Irish or American terms. #facethefacts

4 Comments»

  crankypants wrote @

lolz…at the sister-in-law of an Irish dude, this all rings true. I have to watch myself about #3–even though I am well aware that Ireland is Ireland, I am also aware that it does share some things with the UK. Phrases, foods, tv shows, etc. My BIL is kind of sensitive to #3, but how the eff am I supposed to know what is common to both or only to the UK? I mean, I’m not your typical American butthead “Do you have Christmas in Ireland?” type of idiocy, but I haven’t been there and am much more familiar with England and their stuff, but sometimes my BIL will get a little huffy and say something.
Drink at your own pace…that can be difficult because even if you drink slow they will fill up your glass or get you a new drink if you’re not finished and you won’t have a clue how much you’ve actually drunk. But yes…do not try to keep up with the boys (or even the Irish girls!)

  zigzagmags wrote @

oh i know what you mean about #3. i’ve done it as well – not meaning to, of course – but i’ve made reference to things I’ve done in England or that I did when I was in the UK and then of course it sounded like Ireland was included in that. BF has called me on it before, but he knows what i mean. just usually likes to give me a hard time about it.

and i know what you mean about some things being more sensitive in UK vs Ireland. you never can really tell.

oh and #2 – that still happens sometimes. I’ll end up with 3 drinks – 2 in hand and 1 at the bar and I’m dumbfounded that someone thought i needed another. but it’s not too common now that we’ve been dating for awhile. he’ll ask me first knowing that i’m not drinking as fast. still tricky all the same! 🙂

  doranyc wrote @

Speaking from a shameful amount of experience, I concur that all of this is true. And I have to add #7: If you are of Irish ancestry do not, under any circumstances, refer to yourself as Irish. It is fine to talk about your ancestry, they sometimes find it fascinating. But really, you’re an American.

  zigzagmags wrote @

ah so very true and a good rule to add! while most are appreciative of the fact that everyone wants to be Irish, it’s particularly annoying when people say “my grandfather was Irish” and being polite Conor will ask…’oh yeah, what county?’ and then they have no clue.

my saving grace is that there’s not a single ounce of Irish me. though, that doesn’t stop me from pretending from time to time. haha.


Leave a Reply

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

RAISING A RESCUE DOG

Because rescuing a dog is a commitment not a trend!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

LilyPetal

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing

Joy Victory

Words are my weapons.

CAT IN WATER

Art. Design. Nature. Inspiration

Life of Roya

musings of Roya Ghorbani-Elizeh

Lauri's Blerg

Just another Vox refugee

the food matters project

you are what you eat

emily cawood

designer - builder - artist

Ross' WordPress Portal

Just another WordPress.com site

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Simple Savvy

Slow living, simply done

Going Dutch

and loving it

Lauowolf's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

