Sewing 101

Since February, I’ve had a notion that I’m going to learn to sew. In the end, I’d like to be able to create simple dresses and skirts that are unique to me, both in style and fabric. While taking on new hobbies are often associated with start up costs, I was pretty lucky in that I not only already had a sewing kit, but also a sewing machine (thanks mom!).

Last month, without any sort of direction or knowledge (other than what my mom had shown me), I made a pillow. I was pretty pleased with myself, but this past weekend, I took my first of 6 sewing classes. Each class is about 7 hours on a Saturday and spread out over 3 months. By the time I finish my 6th class, I *should* be able to sew dresses from patterns. Fingers crossed.

I don’t need to be on Project Runway and that is in no way a goal of mine, but I would like to be able to make a dress from scratch, wear it proudly, and have the satisfaction that I made it. A few compliments here and there wouldn’t hurt either, but that’s at least 4 months away. Rewind to Saturday when I made this handy little tote…

And what’s that inside? Next week’s project? Looks like I’ll be the proud owner of Pac-Man themed PJ pants after next Saturday. Yay!

6 Comments»

  crankypants wrote @

Cool!! I’d love to be able to make some simple clothing but it’s not too high up on my list of things to get involved in right now unfortunately. Good job and continued success!

  zigzagmags wrote @

thanks cranky – if you’d like a tote or a pillow…. I’ll be making some fun ones in between classes just to stay up on my sewing. i only need so many, so you might have a little gifty in the mail. If anything you can give it to elvy 🙂

  Creek Corner Hobbies wrote @

Great post thanks for sharing. You have an excellent layout here. I enjoy making crafts with some of my closest friends. Friends and family alike can enjoy doing crafts together.

  zigzagmags wrote @

thanks so much – just checked out your blog. looks like a lot of fun crafts and hobbies!

  crankypants wrote @

Thanks, but unfortunately I have an overabundance of both totes and pillows too! still attempting to lighten my load (though not actively right now…)

  zigzagmags wrote @

ha! okay, if i am able to make something that wouldn’t contribute to an overabundance, i’ll definitely you know! 🙂


Leave a Reply

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

RAISING A RESCUE DOG

Because rescuing a dog is a commitment not a trend!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

LilyPetal

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing

Joy Victory

Words are my weapons.

CAT IN WATER

Art. Design. Nature. Inspiration

Life of Roya

musings of Roya Ghorbani-Elizeh

Lauri's Blerg

Just another Vox refugee

the food matters project

you are what you eat

emily cawood

designer - builder - artist

Ross' WordPress Portal

Just another WordPress.com site

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Simple Savvy

Slow living, simply done

Going Dutch

and loving it

Lauowolf's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

