Maggie learns to cook – part 1

It is a well known fact that I am the worst cook in my apartment. If it involves more than 3 ingredients or takes more than 20 minutes, why bother? Salads are exempt, of course, but anything else…not happening.

It is also a well known fact that one of my roommates and I set goals. Lots of them (see 2011 goals), but each month we also set mini goals. In February, Jenna vowed to take the stairs, no matter what. Quite the feat considering we live on the 10th floor. I admired from afar the elevator and thought about a mini goal for myself.

March’s mini goal: be a better cook.

I started this week with the decision to cook a nice meal on Friday evening – a starter & a main…at least. At least! Looking up good recipes isn’t hard. Any bad cook with internet can do that. The hard part is finding recipes that are relatively easy to make, include normal ingredients, and are healthy. So I turned to supercook.com where you can enter the ingredients you have in your kitchen and recipes are pulled accordingly.

Here is the menu that resulted:

Mini caprese salad with a basalmic vinegar & mustard grain sauce

Grilled chicken & peach kabobs with pepper/peach puree sauce

….and without further ado, the final plated meal of kabobs, served with couscous & topped with puree sauce!

Does anyone have any other recipes I can try? If so, let me know! NOM, NOM, NOM…

2 Comments»

  crankypants wrote @

Whoa! Check you out! I’m assuming it all tasted at least as good as it looks, too. I think all you need is to keep it up and you will no longer qualify as the worst cook in your apartment. I’m no cook so I have no tips on recipes. And I just realized that when I uninstalled Gogle Chrome I lost all my bookmarks since last summer. 😦 (I was looking for the halfass cooking blog I’d linked to a few weeks ago. It’s on my blog but it just made me realize I lost everything. Poo)

  zigzagmags wrote @

thanks cranky! it actually was really tasty. could have used some salt, but i’ve given up salt totally so didn’t add any to the recipe since it said ‘season to taste’ and my taste buds are a bit off anyways. lol

i think you’re right tho – just need to keep at it. planning to cook is so hard to me. why can’t everything just consist of things you’d naturally have in your kitchen? it’s actually a pet peeve of mine to have to buy spices for 1 recipe and then never use them again.

sorry about all your bookmarks, i hate that! but if you find the blog let me know, ill have a look on your blog too. halfass cooking seems like the future! 🙂


Leave a Reply

tinlizzieridesagain

Adventures in Bikeable Fashion

RAISING A RESCUE DOG

Because rescuing a dog is a commitment not a trend!

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

LilyPetal

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing

Joy Victory

Words are my weapons.

CAT IN WATER

Art. Design. Nature. Inspiration

Life of Roya

musings of Roya Ghorbani-Elizeh

Lauri's Blerg

Just another Vox refugee

the food matters project

you are what you eat

emily cawood

designer - builder - artist

Ross' WordPress Portal

Just another WordPress.com site

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Simple Savvy

Slow living, simply done

Going Dutch

and loving it

Lauowolf's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

